Republic Act 10231:  An Act Separating The Camarines Sur Polytechnic College – Naga City Campus (Formerly Bicol College Of Arts And Trades) In The City Of Naga, Province Of Camarines Sur From The Camarines Sur Polytechnic College In Nabua, Camarines Sur And Converting It Into A State College To Be Known As The Bicol State College Of Applied Sciences And Technology And Appropriating Funds therefore

        General Mandate of the College: “To primarily provide advanced education, higher technological, professional and vocational instruction and training in the sciences, arts, education, entrepreneurship, engineering and other related courses. It shall also undertake research and extension services and provide progressive leadership in its areas of specification.”

        “With this conversion, we will take the pioneering effort to pursue research and production activities while taking aggressive steps to acquire and build equipment, tools, and other paraphernalia in order to accelerate socio-economic development in our region,”


Hon. Luis R. Villafuerte (Main Author, RA 10231)


President's Office 054-4720415 (Telefax)
Budget Office 054-4720408 (Telefax)
Trunkline Numbers 054-4720414

Accounting Office 108 Guidance Office 128
Accreditation Office 129 Hostel  135
AESQA Office 114 HR Office  106
Architecture - Faculty 136 HR/Information Counter  105
BAC Office/ Records Section 117 ICT Office 126
Budget Office 109 Internal Auditor  144
CAS - Faculty 116 Lab High Office  149
CAS - Dean 124 Maintenance Office  120
Cashier's Office 107 Medical Clinic  120
CEA - Faculty 140 Multimedia Hub  113
CEA - Dean 141 NEXUS  147
COA Office 110 Planning/PPDMS Office  133
COED - Dean 122 President's Office (Secretary)  101
COED - Faculty 123 President's Office  111
College Librarian 151 Registrar's Office  130
College Library 152 REPED Office  145
Collegian Office 146 SDS Office  125
CTT Office 134 Supply Office  137
Dental Clinic 119 VPAA Office  127
GAD,DRRM,MultiFaith,ECO 112 VPAA - Secretary  132
Guard House/Security Officer 143 VPAF Office  131


The administration of the College shall be vested in the President of the College who shall render full time service.  He shall be appointed by the Board of Trustees, upon the recommendation of a duly constitued search committee.  He shall have term of (4) years and shall be eligible for reappointment for another term.

He shall be assisted by a vice president for academic affairs who shall be appointed by the Board of Trustees upon the former's recommendation without prejudice to the appointment of more than one vice president when so warranted.

In case of vacancy by reason of death, resignation, removal for cause or incapacity of the President to perform the functions Officer-in-charge pending the appointment of a new president.

In case of vacancy in the Offie of the President as mentioned in the immediately preceding paragraph, his successor shall hold office for the unexpired term. (Section 6, RA 8292)



There shall be an Administrative Council consisting of the President of the College as Chairman, the vice presidents, dean, directors and other officials of equal rank as members, and whose duty is to review and recommend to the Board of Trustees policies governing the administration, management and development planning of the College for appropriate action (Sec 9, RA 8292)



There shall be an academic council with the President of the College as Chairman and all members of the instructional staff with the rank of not lower than assistant professor as member.

The academic council shall have the power to review and recommend the curricular offerings and rules of discipline of the College subject to appropriate action of the Board of Trustees.  It shall fix the requirements for the admission of students as well for graduation and the conferment of degrees subject to review and/or approval by the Board of Trustees through the President of the College.

Tertiary level was immensely expanded to cover other fields of trade- technical education, thus the Bachelor of Science in Industrial Technology (BSIT) was opened in 1977. Under the Technical– Vocational Education Project (TVEP), it was selected as one of the pilot Technician Education Institutes (TEI) for Region V, by the Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports (MECS). The education component of the project was operationalized in school year 1984-1985, by the offering of the two- year Diploma in Industrial Technician (DIT) curriculum, with four major fields of specialization namely Automotive, Mechanical, Electrical , and Refrigeration and Air conditioning technologies.

In 1984, Dr. Pacita S. Yorobe temporarily headed the school. Five months later, in April 1, 1985, Superintendent Augusto R. Nieves took over—the second alumnus to achieve such status. In 1988, by virtue of DECS Order no. 39, s. 1988, the Teacher-Education component was expanded through the offering of the Bachelor of Secondary Education (BSEd), major in Technology and Home Economics (THE), Mathematics, English and Physics; and Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education (BEEd) with the area of specialization in Home Economics and Livelihood Education (HELE).

Under the administration of Mr. Honesto T. Aguilar, the 5th School Superintendent, BCAT started its offering of Engineering courses namely: Electrical Engineering (BSEE) Electronics and Communications Engineering (BSECE), Mechanical Engineering (BSME) and Bachelor of Science in Architecture (BSA). The institution had first Engineering and Architecture graduates last March, 2001 and until now had steadily produced board passers and board topnotchers

BCAT continued its bid for excellence in technology and teacher education under Mr. Pedro F. Moreno, the 6th Superintendent of the College. It remained undefeated during the annual Skills Olympic among TECHVOC schools in the Region. Its students maintained its dominance in the FFP-FAHP contests for high school students.

In December 2000, pursuant to Republic Act 8760, on the integration of CHED Supervised Institution (CSI’s) to State Universities and College (SUC’s) , the Bicol College of Arts and Trades was integrated to the Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges (CSPC) in Nabua, Camarines Sur. For more than 11 years, it existed as the CSPC Naga Campus under three Presidents, Dr. Lourdes B. Laniog (2000-2002), Dr. Monsito G. Ilarde (2002-2010) and Dr. Dukce F. Atian (2010-2012). Serving as Campus Directors were Dr. Amparo A. Nieves (2000-2002, 2003-2006), Dr. Alejandro R. Cortez (2002-2003) and Dr. Richard H. Cordial (2010-2012), who also became Campus Administrator before the conversion of the College.

In October 19, 2012, under the sponsorship of Cong. Luis R. Villafuerte of the 3rd District of Camarines Sur, Pres. Benigno Aquino III signed the passage of RA 10231 formally separating the school from CSPC and naming it the Bicol State College of Applied Sciences and Technology (BISCAST) with its first President, Dr. Richard H. Cordial.

The CSNCAT, the BCAT and then CSPC- Naga Campus, now BISCAST, takes pride in its distinguished history that saw the growth of this institution. Thousands of young men and women have passed through its portals and are now productive citizens or community leaders. It has survived more than 100 years as an institution of learning and served generations of Bikolanos. It remains to this day, a premier source of Engineering and Vocational Technology, Teacher Education, and Architecture. With its new mandate, it looks forward to enriching its programs in the Applied Sciences and Technology. With the spirit and dynamism of its present leaders and staff, it will continue to grow, serve and pursue its goals and commitment to the people of Bicol.

Back to Top